Seit gestern bin ich wieder zu Hause nach einer zehnstündiger Reise mit Bus, Zug, Flugzeug und Auto.
Dienstag bin ich noch einmal in Edinburgh gewesen. Da gibt es zwei schöne Buchhandlungen und es fand gerade ein Buchfestival statt. Leider war mein Koffergewicht begrenzt und ich konnte mir nichts mehr kaufen. Mit einem Blick auf meinen SUB und mein Lesetempo ist das vielleicht aber auch nicht so verkehrt.
Allerdings hab ich mir dafür letzte Woche Bücher gekauft (siehe vorheriger Artikel).


Sarah Winman – When God was a rabbit

„This is a book about a brother and a sister.
It’s a bookabout childhood and growing up, friendships and families, triumph and tragedy and everything in between.
More than anything, it’s a book about love in all its forms.“

Ich glaube, ich muss das Buch später noch auf Deutsch lesen, falls es hier erscheint. Ich finde es ganz gut und mir gefällt das Cover. Ich habe erst 60 Seiten gelesen, war leider in den letzten Tagen etwas untätig, aber ich hoffe, den Rest krieg ich schnell fertig.


Paul Murray – Skippy dies

„‚Skippy and Ruprecht are having a doughnut-eating race one evening when Skippy turns purple and falls off his chair‘.
And so begins this epic, tragic, comic, brilliant novel set in and around Dublin’s Seabrook College for Boys. Principally concerning the lives, loves, mistakes and triumphs of overweight maths-whiz Ruprecht Van Doren and his roommate Daniel ‚Skippy‘ Juster, it features a frisbee-throwing siren called Lori, the joys (and horrors) of first love, the use and blatant misuse of prescription drugs, Carl (the official school psychopath), and various attempts to unravel string theory …while at the same time exploring the very deepest mysteries of the human heart.“

Dieses Buch, in Deutsch „Skippy stirbt“, wollte ich schon seit längerem lesen. Ich freue mich darauf, es zu lesen. Es ist wahrscheinlich leichter als „When God was a rabbit“ und liegt auf meinem SUB nun ziemlich weit oben.


Michael Grant- Gone

„299 Hours 54 Minutes
Suddenly it’s a world without adults and normal has crashed and burned. When life as you know it ends at 15, everything changes.

A small town in Southern California: In the blink of an eye everyone over the age of 15 disappears. Cut off from the outside world, those that are left are trapped, and there’s no help on the way. Chaos rules the streets.
Now a new world order is rising and, even scarier, some survivors have power – mutant power that no one has ever seen before…“

Ich hab das Buch auf Empfehlung gekauft, normalerweise hätte es mich nicht richtig interessiert. Wahrscheinlich wird es erstmal einige Monate auf meinem SUB dahin vegetieren, bis ich dazu komme, es zu lesen. Nun, vielleicht gefällt es mir doch und ich kaufe mir die beiden Nachfolger.

